Daily Archives: June 17, 2013

The Vedas (Knowledge) – It’s Function & Structure

The Vedas (Knowledge) are principally divided into three portions – Mantra, Brahmana and Aranyaka. They are beginningless (Anadi), infinite (Ananta) and not the creation of the humans (Apaurusheya). A unique feature of the Vedas is that they have no internal contradictions. The portion now available is a very small part of the original and so very valuable.

Vast portions of this text have been lost in antiquity.

Vedas (Knowledge) are the means of gaining more knowledge through – Pramana (Acceptable Proof) for Dharma andBrahman.

Brahman (God) = The Original Cause of All Causes!

Dharma (Good) = The way “It originally was & Is” … and hence the crucial need to maintain it be so, for the happiness of all.

Pramanas are of six in number. They are:

1. Pratyaksha (Visible) pramana: Direct perception i.e. through our senses we gain the knowledge of the world.

2. Anuman (Imagination) pramana: We infer what we don’t see from what we see. We know the relationship of what we see with what we don’t see. Like we see smoke and infer fire.

3. Upamana (Comparison) pramana: We learn through comparison. We see an object, which is similar to what we had seen before and by comparison we come to know the new object. For example we compare the materials found on Mars with that on Earth and learn.

4. Arthapatti (Result) pramana: Knowledge is gained of the cause by studying the effect. This too is a type of inference. We see that the roads are wet and infer the cause as rain.

 5. Anupalabdhi (Unavailable) pramana: When we do not see a thing which we know at a place we gain knowledge of it’s absence. Like, we know human & animal life is absent on the moon. This too depends on pratyaksha.

6. Agama (Scriptures) pramana: We gain knowledge of Dharma and Brahman, which are beyond the domain of our senses, from the Vedas. Hence Vedas are Aagama Pramana also known as Shabda (Spoken Sound) Pramana. Read the rest of this entry

%d bloggers like this: